Here’s looking at you America…

An interpretation, through the songs of Simon & Garfunkel

america3
“They’ve all come to look for America” – America, Simon & Garfunkel.
nyskyline1
“New York, to that tall skyline, I come flyin'” – A Heart in New York, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Manhattan, NYC
nyskyline2
“New York, like a scene from all those movies, but you’re real enough to me…” A Heart in New York, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Manhattan, NYC
ny1
“New York, lookin down on Central Park” – A Heart in New York, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: The Pond, Central Park
thumb_img_1447_1024
“New York, you’ve got money on your mind” – A Heart in New York, Simon & Garfunkel.  Pic: NYSE
nyskyline4
“A heart in New York, a rose on the street, I write my song to that city heartbeat” – A Heart in New York, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: One WTC, Lower Manhattan, NYC
oldfriends
“Old friends, sat on a park bench like bookends…Can you imagine us years from today, sharing a park bench quietly; how terribly strange to be seventy” – Old Friends/Bookends,  Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Central Park, middle-upper Manhattan, New York City
lamp-post1
“Hello lamp post, whatcha doin? I’ve come to watch your flowers growin. Ain’t you got no rhymes for me?” – 59th bridge street song, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: George Town, Washington DC
img_2812
“All come to look for America” – America, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Manhattan skyline on a cloudy evening.
thumb_img_1494_1024
“And the people bowed and prayed to the neon god they made” – Sound of Silence, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Times Square, NYC
njturnpike
“Counting the cars on the New Jersey Turnpike, they’ve all come to look for America” – America, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Somewhere on a Turnpike…
homewardbound
“I’m sitting at a railway station, with a ticket to my destination” – Homeward Bound, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Railway Station, Trenton, New Jersey.
america
“Let us be lovers, we’ll marry our fortunes together. I’ve got some real estate here in my bag…” America, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Detroit Airport, Michigan
thumb_img_1439_1024
“Michigan seems like a dream to me now…” America, Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Orchard Lake Road, Michigan.

img_1398

“When you’re weary, feeling small, when tears are in your eyes, I’ll dry them all.  I’m on your side, oh when times get rough and friends just can’t be found, Like a bridge over troubled water I will lay me down…Sail on silver girl, sail on by. Your time has come to shine. All your dreams are on their way. See how they shine. Oh, if you need a friend, I’m sailing right behind. Like a bridge over troubled water I will ease your mind” – Bridge Over Troubled Waters Simon & Garfunkel. Pic: Rainbow Bridge, Niagara Falls.

All pictures featured on this post belong to the author of this blog post/page
Leave a Reply

